Insulated Conductors Committee

The ICC Website is changing.  As this transition is made, our new format can be found at Please send any comments or questions to

IEEE Awards

There are a number of awards given out by IEEE, not administered by the ICC.  Below are some of the awards that have been given to ICC Members over the years.

IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award

From the IEEE Website:

The IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award was established in 1986 through agreement between Herman Halperin and the Board of Directors of the IEEE. The funds were contributed by Herman and Edna Halperin and are administered by the IEEE Foundation, Inc.
It may be awarded annually to an individual or team up to three in number for outstanding contributions to electric transmission and distribution.
It is awarded by the IEEE Board of Directors on the recommendation of the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.
From 1959 through 1986, the award for outstanding contributions to the field of electric transmission and distribution was named the William M. Habirshaw Award. Herman Halperin was a recipient of the Habirshaw Award in 1962. Mr. Halperin had a distinguished career with the Commonwealth Edison Company over a period of 40 years. Subsequently, he spent 15 years as a consulting engineer. He was particularly noted for his pioneering contributions to the design and operation of electric plant facilities and power cable systems.

More information on the award, including the nomination form can be found on the IEEE Website.

The 2016 award winnder was Mr. George Anders of Anders Consulting, Ltd.
The Award Citation reads: "For contributions to advances in computational methods for the thermal rating of electric power cables.”

The 2014 award winner was Mr. Willem Boone, Senior Consultant for KEMA, Oosterbeek, The Netherlands.
The Award Citation reads:  “For successful international leadership and guidance in understanding critical factors affecting power cable life and in improving diagnostic test procedures.”

The 2010 award winner was Mr. Carlos Katz of Cable Technology Laboratories, Inc.
The Award Citation reads: "For developing and understanding of factors that influence life of XLPE and EPR-insulated cable systems."

From the award: Carlos Katz’s vital research on moisture prevention in power cables has extended product life by over 25 years and saved the utility industry substantial money worldwide. As Extruded cables insulated with cross-linked polyethylene (XLPE) and ethylene propylene rubber (EPR) age, moisture diffuses into their insulation and in the presence of electric stress a degradation phenomenon originates. It was Mr. Katz’s research that helped discover and explain the moisture phenomenon (known as “water trees”), and it was his efforts that led to a solution. Mr. Katz developed a method that involved running dielectric liquids through the inter-strand spacing of the aged cables. The liquids diffuse into the insulation to replace the moisture, inhibiting further development of water trees and allowing continued operation. An IEEE Fellow, Mr. Katz is currently the president of Cable Technology Laboratories, Inc., New Brunswick, N.J., which provides testing services to manufacturers and utility companies to assure cable system reliability.

Past winners of the IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award.    

Return to the ICC Awards and Recognition page

IEEE prohibits discrimination, harassment and bullying. For more information, visit
Privacy & Opting Out of Cookies  Terms & Conditions
IEEE ICC PES & Design is a registered trademark of The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.