## IEEE HERMAN HALPERIN ELECTRIC TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION AWARD RECIPIENTS

- 2014 WILLEM BOONE Senior Consultant, KEMA, Oosterbeek, The Netherlands
- 2013 VIJAY VITTAL Ira A. Fulton Chair Professor, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA
- 2012 MICHEL DUVAL Senior Research Scientist, Hydro Quebec Institute of Research (IREQ), Quebec, Canada
- 2011 JOHN H. BRUNKE Principal Consultant, Siemens PT&D, Freeland, WA, USA
- 2010 CARLOS KATZ Chief Engineer & President Cable Technology Laboratories, Inc. New Brunswick, NJ, USA
- 2009 CARSON W. TAYLOR (Retired) Principal Engineer, Bonneville Power Administration, Portland, OR, USA
- 2008 ROBERT C. DEGENEFF Professor, Electrical, Computer & Systems Engineer, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, USA
- 2007 ERIC B. FORSYTH Brookhaven, NY, USA
- 2006 ANJAN BOSE Dean, College of Eng & Architecture Washington State University Pullman, WA, USA
- 2005 JAMES J. BURKE Executive Consultant Synergetic Design, Inc,

"For successful international leadership and guidance in understanding critical factors affecting power cable life and in improving diagnostic test procedures."

"For development of power system stability assessment methods leading to the maximum utilization and increased reliability of transmission facilities."

"For development and leadership in the condition monitoring of high-voltage power transformers and related equipment."

"For leadership in the development of advanced high voltage equipment technology, application and standardization."

"For developing understanding of factors that influence life of XLPE and EPRinsulated cable system."

"For contributions to enhance the voltage stability, dynamic performance, and reliability of large interconnected power systems."

"For innovative and pioneering contributions to the computation and understanding of transient voltages in transformers and systems"

"For the practical application of superconductors to power transmission technology."

"For enhancement of transmission system operation through the development of realtime operator training simulators."

"For contributions to power distribution engineering."

## IEEE HERMAN HALPERIN ELECTRIC TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION AWARD RECIPIENTS

Cary, NC, USA

2004 – ANDREW JOHN ERIKSSON Member of the Board The Performance Group AS Oslo, Norway "For lightning research and its application to lightning protection of transmission lines and substations."

- 2003 P. SARMA MARUVADA Consultant, Quebec, Canada
- "For contributions to the understanding and characterization of electromagnetic fields and corona phenomena associated with high voltage AC/DC overhead transmission lines."

"For pioneering contributions of the

- 2002 JOHN J. VITHAYATHIL Consultant Portland, OR, USA
- 2001 ARTHUR C. WESTROM Westrom Technologies Stone Mountain, GA, USA
- 2000 ARUN GAJANAN PHADKE Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Blacksburg, VA, USA
- 1999 -CHARLES L. WAGNER Export, PA, USA
- 1998 VINCENT THOMAS MORGAN Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization Linfield, Australia
- 1997 B. DON RUSSELL Texas A&M University College Station, TX, USA

HVdc system technologies." "For contributions to the innovation, design

thyristor-controlled series capacitor system

and for leadership in the advancement of

and commercialization of electric power distribution products."

"For leadership in the field of computer relaying and for the conception of the synchronized phasor measurement technique using Global Positioning Systems (GPS) satellite signals."

"For contributions to the design, analysis and application of electric power transmission and distribution systems."

"For contributions to the understanding of the electrical, mechanical and thermal behavior of electric power transmission and distribution lines."

"For contributions to the understanding and detection of high impedance earth faults in electric power distribution systems."

1996 - FAROUK A. M. RIZK

"For contributions to high-voltage power

## IEEE HERMAN HALPERIN ELECTRIC TRANSMISSION AND DISTRIBUTION AWARD RECIPIENTS

Hydro Que Inst. of Research Quebec, Canada

1995 - VERNON LEE CHARTIER Bonneville Power Administration Vancouver, WA, USA transmission research and technical leadership in insulation coordination."

"For contributions to the understanding and characterization of the electromagnetic environment of high voltage transmission lines."

- 1994 ABDEL-AZIZ A. FOUAD Iowa State University Ames, IA, USA
- 1993 MAT DARVENIZA University of Queensland Queensland, Australia
- 1992 ANDREW R. HILEMAN Westinghouse Electric Corp. Monroeville, PA, USA
- 1991 JOHN G. ANDERSON Power Tech Inc. Schenectady, NY, USA
- 1990 JOHN A. CASAZZA Casazza, Schultz & Assoc. Arlington, VA, USA
- 1989 JOHN J. DOUGHERTY Electric Power Res. Inst. San Jose, CA, USA
- 1988 LUIGI PARIS Power System Engineering Rome, Italy
- 1987 ROBERT F. LAWRENCE Westinghouse Electric Corp. Pittsburgh, PA, USA

"For contributions to electrical power system analysis leading to improved control and stability of large utility systems."

"For contributions to the lightning protection of power equipment, including both engineering analysis and protective equipment design."

"For meritorious achievement in the advancement of technology for insulation coordination, switching overvoltages, and testing of high voltage electric power transmission systems."

"For contributions to the insulation coordination of transmission lines."

"For leadership in and contributions to the development and reliable utilization of electric power transmission systems."

"For leadership in and contributions to the fields of power transmission and distribution, the development of high voltage apparatus, and the advancement of DC transmission technology."

"For contributions to the development of Extra - and Ultra-High Voltage transmission engineering technology."

"For contributions to concepts and equipment for the transmission and distribution of electric power."